Cooperation in Senegal




The cooperation between Le Partenariat and Senegal is historical. It started in 1981 with the twining of the cities of Lille and Saint-Louis and has grown over the years. Nowadays, projects are carried out throughout the northern regions of Saint-Louis and Matam (the River Valley Region).


Cooperation zones in Senegal

The region of Saint Louis is located in the north of the Sahelian zone, on the border with Mauritania. With its 800 000 inhabitants, the region regroups 9% of the Senegalese population. There is a low population density and a big diversity between the irrigable areas and the inlands. There are two main traditional areas: Walo (Wolof) and Fouta (Poulaar). The economy is essentially turned towards farming, fruit and vegetables and pastoralism. Saint-Louis is a historical city, listed a World Heritage site by UNESCO. It is an economic, demographic, administrative and institutional centre for the region.



The region of Matam is the most oriental area of the country. It is a Sahelian region with low rainfall, high temperatures and a low density (300 000 inhabitants). There are 3 distinct zones: Walo (River valley), Ferlo (pastoral area) and Diery (intermediary area).